Saga by Brian K Vaughan

Wednesdays like this coming Wednesday (3/14) don’t come often.  Sure, it’s new comic Wendesday, but this Wednesday marks Brian K Vaughan’s return to the comic book medium.  Vaughan and Co-creator/artist Fiona Staples bring us the world of “Saga” to a shelf of your friendly neighborhood comic shop.  Vaughan, as you may already know, wrote the epic story (and one of my personal favorites), “Y: The Last Man”.  He also wrote Wildstorm’s “Ex Machina” and Marvel’s “Runaways”.  He also wrote several episodes of this little TV show called “Lost”.

Saga takes place in a “paracosm”, or imaginary world, which Vaughan created as a child.  So this world has had lots of time to ferment in Vaughan’s head and hopefully the spirits within will have fully matured to mind-blowing status.  The birth of Vaughan’s new book aptly begins with the birth of what surely will be an important character, “Pico”.  She is born during a time of galactic war, and her parents are citizens of the opposing sides of the war.  After giving birth to their child, the family decides to flee.  But wait! – If you think this is going to be some “Firefly” with a lot of baby burping and diaper changing, think again.  Vaughan is totally masterful in putting together a story which has plenty of sci-fi, violence, sex, and laughs in a manner that is powerful and meaningful.

The Saga begins Wednesday, are you ready?

Y: THE LAST MAN writer BRIAN K. VAUGHAN returns to comics with red-hot artist FIONA STAPLES for an all-new ONGOING SERIES! Star Wars-style action collides with Game of Thrones-esque drama in this original sci-fi/fantasy epic for mature readers, as new parents Marko and Alana risk everything to raise their child amidst a never-ending galactic war. The adventure begins in a spectacular DOUBLE-SIZED FIRST ISSUE, with forty-four pages of story with no ads for the regular price of just $2.99!

Source: Image Comics, Wired


About The Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *